Getting out of comfort zone: freemium.dev begins!

This is how I got out of my comfort zone and finally started my freemium.dev blog on hashnode: by embracing imperfect as my new perfect.

·

4 min read

Getting out of comfort zone: freemium.dev begins!

I was exploring hashnode for sometime now. And, like many other devs, I too explore places like Stack Overflow, dev.to, deily.dev and other places we developers usually hangout on the web, to learn new programming related things or when we're just bored.

Then something clicked on my mind - only by passing time on the web, reading dev posts, doing freelance gigs and learning new things forever, I'm not adding any value to the community!

1. The perfectionist dilemma.

Sure, I can post new articles and tutorials on different topics, but writing something online for everyone to see, brings out the inner perfectionist in me. I spend some time on it trying to make it perfect, but it never gets perfect. And I end up sharing nothing!

Over the years, I've written thousands of programming related notes on my personal notebooks, which includes notes on Web Development, JavaScript, CSS, Shell Scripting, Linux Server Management, DevOps, Git, Web Security, WordPress Development, Automation and many more. But I've never shared a single note in public 😒! Because every time I think of doing so, I want to make it perfect and keep procrastinating on it 🤔. Then eventually, it gets abandoned!

❝Perfect is the enemy of good❞ --- Voltaire. 🙏

2. Finding a simple solution.

So I said to myself, enough is enough! From now on, whenever I read something, watch a video, listen to a podcast, use a new dev tool, work on a dev project - I'll just take the notes about them in public (as draft at first). That way, I will not have to find extra time for public contributions.

Just a few edits before I click that publish button, that scary publish 😱 button - that'll be enough!

epiphany gif

3. Taking baby steps.

So, from now on I'll just follow these 3 simple rules:

  1. Take all my notes as draft (unless it's something inherently private).
  2. Post as soon as the draft is readable enough.
  3. I'll edit the published post later if I feel like making it perfect (thus taming my inner perfectionist 🤫).

baby steps gif

4. Why the name freemium.dev?

Actually, I had this .dev domain name since the time .dev domain name system (gTLD) went public.

But why the name ❝freemium❞ for this dev blog though? Well, we all know what freemium means:

Freemium: A premium product or service provided for free, where revenue usually comes form advertisement, and a subscription model if you want to remove Ads. or want additional features.

This doesn't mean that I'm going to hide my content behind a paywall though. On the contrary, I'm taking the term in a broader sense. Which means, every time I see my own domain name, I'll know that I intend to provide premium quality content free for the community. So the naming will definitely push me towards that goal.

At the same time, I'll be writing about other interesting development related things that I come across everyday - blog posts, videos, software tools, or anything that may be useful to me or other developers. So in a way, I'll also help developers discover interesting Freemium (i.e. Free Premium) dev content, products and services from all around the web.

free (as in freedom) gif

I know, there are possibly many more blogs, websites and services like this, but this will have my own personal flavour. So it'll be unique for people who'll end up liking my style. And if nothing else, then at least I'll have my own notes organized and searchable from anywhere with just a net connection! Besides, it's about time I put this domain name into good use!

5. The journey begins.

So I'll just start from here, without further delay, and without giving any more thought. I'll figure out how to go forward as I continue this journey 🚀.

Wish me luck, and send your love 💚.

I'll be grateful if anyone ever finds my posts useful 💝.

Thank you hashnode and this cool community of developers for giving me this opportunity!

Credits.

Being grateful is important. So here are some of the places from where I took free stuffs for this article: